Thursday, July 07, 2011

Branford Boase 2011 Award

Out Of Shadows by Jason Wallace, edited by Charlie Sheppard and published by Andersen
Press, has won the Branford Boase Award, which is given each year to the most outstanding work of fiction for children by a first time novelist.

The Branford Boase Award was set up to encourage new writers and is given each year to the most promising work of fiction for children by a debut novelist. The Branford Boase Award also honours the editor of the winning title and highlights the importance of the editor in nurturing new talent.

The book was reviewed in Carousel in the Spring 2011 issue:

"This tough, bleak book has won the Costa Children's Prize. This is not a book for children but for young adults and adults. The question at the heart of this powerful story is a moral one - would killing Mugabe be defensible given all that we now know about this administration. The story begins with a thirteen-year-old English boy at a mainly white boys school in Zimbabwe. The time is the early eighties when many thought Mugabe was a force for good as the man who bought peace to the country. The language of the boys is often racist, they see their futures evaporating, their parents distraught. One boy, Ivan, seeks a remedy and it is his and the narrator's story that drives the book to its tragic conclusion" Enid Stephenson

CLPE Poetry Award

The winner was Off Road to Everywhere by Jonathan Gross and published by Salt. Described by Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy, last year’s winner of the prize and a judge as, “an outstanding winner for this Award” while fellow judge Fiona Waters who is also a previous winner said, “This is wonderful stuff. Here are real, proper poems
which are full of beauty and imagination. I loved it!”

Philip Gross is Professor of Creative Writing at Glamorgan University. His collections of poetry for adults and children include The Water Table, which won the T. S. Eliot Prize, and The All-Nite Café which won the Signal Award. Philip Gross is also the author of ten teenage novels - most recently Going for Stone, The Lastling and The Storm Garden.

The judges selected If You Could See Laughter by Mandy Coe to be Highly Commended.
The shortlisted titles are Everybody Was a Baby Once by Allan Ahlberg, illustrated by Bruce Ingman, Walker; Cuckoo Rock by Phil Bowen, illustrated by Fred James, Salt Publishing; A Million Brilliant Poems (part one) edited by Roger Stevens, illustrated by Jessie Ford, A & C Black.

The CLPE Poetry Award which was judged this year by Carol Ann Duffy, Andrew Lambirth
and Fiona Waters, honours excellence in poetry written for children. Previous winners include Jackie Kay, Roger McGough, Fiona Waters, Carol Ann Duffy, Grace Nichols and John Agard. The 2011 award was sponsored by Travelling Books.