Thursday, December 21, 2006

Medway Book Award 2006

Medway Book Award has been won this year by Stuart Hill for Cry of the Icemark. The award was presented at the Sir Joseph Williamson’s Mathematical School on 27th November when Stuart held a group of the young judges spellbound. The award is presented annually for the best debut novel for teenagers and has previously been won by Eleanor Updale and Robert Muchamore. Six Medway Secondary Schools (Math School, Rainham Girls, Thomas Aveling, Robert Napier, Chapter School and Chatham South) took part and Stuart was a very popular winner coming out top of a strong field including CILIP Carnegie medal nominee Gabrielle Zevin.

No comments: