Monday, November 17, 2008

Children's Laureate Competition

Children’s Laureate Competition
To vote for who you would like to be the next Children’s Laureate (2009 - 2011) log on to:

Children under 14 can win the chance to attend the announcement event of the next Children's Laureate in London in June 2009. Four lucky winners, one each from England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales, will have their entries read out on the day and published on the Children’s Laureate website. Ten others will receive book prizes. Adults are invited to nominate their choice for the Children's Laureate but are not eligible for the competition.

The competition

Children under 14 can suggest any living British writer or illustrator of children's books - someone who they think has made a real contribution to the development of children's books. They need to argue their case in up to 100 words. Entries that simply name someone will be disqualified from the competition. The winner will be the person under 14 who makes the best case for their choice - they do not need to choose the person who becomes the laureate. Authors of the four best entries will be invited to the announcement event in London, with a parent or carer.

The Children’s Laureate
The role of Children's Laureate, which has a bursary of £10,000, is awarded once every two years to an eminent writer or illustrator of children's books to celebrate outstanding achievement in their field. The appointment of a Children's Laureate acknowledges the importance of exceptional children's authors in creating the readers of tomorrow.

The idea for the Children's Laureate originated from a conversation between (the then) Poet Laureate Ted Hughes and children's writer Michael Morpurgo. The illustrator Quentin Blake was the first Children's Laureate (1999-2001), followed by the author Anne Fine (2001-2003), Michael Morpurgo (2003-2005), Jacqueline Wilson (2005-7) and Michael Rosen (2007-2009) is the current Children’s Laureate. The next Children's Laureate will be chosen by a selection panel and will be appointed for a two-year term.

A summary of the suggestions received via the online competition will be sent to the selection panel, including the number of entries for each individual.

No comments: