Wednesday, March 08, 2017

Longlist announced for the 2017 Klaus Flugge Prize

Fifteen debut picture books in the running for 
important new illustration prize, now in its second year
@KlausFluggePr  #KFP17

The longlist for the 2017 Klaus Flugge Prize is announced today (Wednesday 8 March 2017). Established in 2016, the Klaus Flugge Prize is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s book illustration. It honours publisher Klaus Flugge, founder of children’s publisher Andersen Press and a supremely influential figure in picture books.
Fifteen books by debut picture book illustrators have made the longlist. Walker Books and Nosy Crow have two each, while tiny independent Graffeg and new imprint Two Hoots are also represented.  In total 13 publishers are represented, and illustrators from the UK and overseas.
The judges for the 2017 prize are Axel Scheffler, illustrator of The Gruffalo;Nicolette Jones, children’s books editor of the Sunday TimesTamara Macfarlane, owner of Tales on Moon Lane children’s bookshop; and last year’s winner Nicholas John Frith. The panel will be chaired by Julia Eccleshare, director of the children’s programme of the Hay Festival.
Chair of the judges Julia Eccleshare said: “It is exciting to be announcing the second set of books in contention for the Klaus Flugge Prize; exciting too that the list is so varied, and that the illustrators use so many different techniques, styles and materials to tell their very different stories. Our longlist features examples of cutting-edge digital art and collage, as well as illustrators working in charcoal, watercolour and pencil. The eye-catching minimalism of books such as Little Red or The Museum of Me sits happily alongside the busy, detailed cartoon-strips of Life is Magic and each illustrator shows phenomenal understanding of the art of storytelling. We are delighted to put these 15 talented artists in the spotlight.”
The Klaus Flugge Prize longlist in full:
The Lonely Giant, Sophie Ambrose, edited by Lizzie Sitton (Walker)
Hannah and Sugar, Kate Berube, edited by Tamar Brazis (Abrams)

Baxter’s Book, Hrefna Bragadottir, edited by Louise Bolongaro (Nosy Crow)
World of Information, James Brown, written by Richard Platt, edited by Denise Johnston-Burt (Walker)
Animal Surprises, Abbie Cameron, written and edited by Nicola Davies (Graffeg)
Bob the Artist, Marion Deuchars, edited by Elizabeth Jenner (Laurence King Publishing)
The Museum of Me, Emma Lewis, edited by Alice Chasey, (Tate)
Life is Magic, Meg McLaren, edited Libby Hamilton (Andersen Press)
First Snow, Bomi Park, edited by Victoria Rock (Chronicle Book)
Little Mouse’s Big Breakfast, Christine Pym, edited by Louise Bolongaro (Nosy Crow)
Duck Gets a Job, Sonny Ross edited by Alison Ritchie (King’s Road Publishing)
The Journey, Francesca Sanna, edited by Harriet Birkenshaw, (Flying Eye)
Little One, Jo Weaver, edited by Emma Layfield (Hodder Children’s Books)
Hiding Heidi, Fiona Woodcock, edited by Lara Hancock, (Simon and Schuster)
Little Red, Bethan Woollvin, edited by Suzanne Carnell (Two Hoots)
The shortlist will be announced on 17 May 2017 and the winner will be revealed in September 2017.
For more information, interview requests and images contact Andrea
020 8889 1292/ 07807893369

No comments: