Monday, February 28, 2011

Red House Children's Book Award

Children nationwide are now invited to vote for their favourite of the ten shortlisted books. The category winners and the author of the best children’s book published in 2010 will be announced at the Award Presentation Ceremony which takes place at the Botanical Gardens in Birmingham on 11th June 2011. A dedicated website showcases all the shortlisted titles and featured authors. Any child can vote for their favourite book until 21st May 2011. The full shortlist for the Red House Children’s Book Award 2011 is as follows: Books for Younger Children Gilbert the Hero – Jane Clarke and Charles Fuge (Simon & Schuster)Annie Hoot and the Knitting Extravaganza – Holly Clifton-Brown (Andersen Press)Yuck! That’s not a Monster! – Angela McAllister and Alison Edgson (Little Tiger Press)Dragon Stew – Steve Smallman and Lee Wildish (Little Tiger Press) Books for Younger Readers The Great Hamster Massacre – Katie Davies (Simon and Schuster)Time Train to the Blitz – Sophie McKenzie (Usborne Books)Shadow – Michael Morpurgo (HarperCollins) Books for Older Readers Trash – Andy Mulligan (David Fickling Books)The Kane Chronicles: The Red Pyramid – Rick Riordan (Puffin)TimeRiders – Alex Scarrow (Puffin)
The Book Award is organised by the Federation of Children's Book Groups.

No comments: