Thursday, June 26, 2014

Historic Kate Greenaway Medal win for Jon Klassen’s This is Not My Hat

Jon Klassen wins Walker Books’ 10th Kate Greenaway Medal for This is Not My Hat, and becomes the only book to win both the Kate Greenaway and Randolph Caldecott Awards.

Walker Books are delighted to announce that Jon Klassen has won the 2014 Kate Greenaway Medal for Illustration for his beautiful picture book This is Not My Hat. The Greenaway Medal would always be an incredible achievement for any artist or publishing house, but for Walker Books this marks their TENTH Greenaway Medal, a feat unmatched by any other publisher, positioning Walker as the home of the very best in illustrative publishing. (See editors notes for the full list of Walker Books’ Greenaway winners)

Adding to this unique honour, Jon Klassen’s This is Not My Hat will also go into the history books as the first ever title to win both the UK’s highest illustration honour with the Kate Greenaway Medal, but also win the USA’s highest prize for illustration, the Randolph Caldecott Medal, which was awarded in 2013. Karen Lotz, Group Managing Director of the Walker Books Group said of the win; “Jon Klassen’s cunning hat thief stole our hearts at Walker long ago, and we couldn’t be more thrilled that he has now stolen the hearts of the 2014 Greenaway committee in this historic win. We are particularly proud to be the global publisher of the first creator to win both the Randolph Caldecott Medal and the Kate Greenaway Medal for the same book. What on earth will the extraordinarily talented Mr. Klassen do next? Watch this space!”

On winning the CILIP Kate Greenaway, Jon Klassen said: "Winning this award is hugely encouraging. Making a book, you're kind of going out on a limb in the belief that what you think of as a satisfying story is the same as what other people think of as a satisfying story. This doesn't mean everything in the story turns out alright for everybody, but you, as a storyteller, try and make sure it ends the way the story should end. Any audience, children included, take reassurance from that. Storytelling is an act of community, of looking at one another afterward and agreeing that we enjoyed it, or not, whether the story itself portrays happiness or doom. The hope is found when we agree we liked it, and I'm so glad you liked this one." Commenting on today’s historic announcement, Deirdre McDermott, Walker Books Picture Book Publisher said: “We are all thrilled that Jon is the winner of this year’s Greenaway Medal – that tiny, hopeful fish with his teeny blue bowler hat has captured the imagination of so many children here in the UK and Ireland. It feels extra special for us that Walker Books' 10th Greenaway Medal should be won by This Is Not My Hat – stylish, witty picture book making at its very boldest.”


Jon Klassen is the creator of the Greenaway and Caldecott Medal winning picture book This Is Not My Hat, a New York Times bestseller and a Publishers Weekly Best Children’s Book of the Year. He is also the creator of the #1 New York Times bestseller I Want My Hat Back, which was named a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Book, a New York Times Book Review Best Illustrated Children's Book of the Year, and a Publishers Weekly Best Children's Book of the Year. Jon Klassen is the illustrator of Extra Yarn and Sam and Dave Dig a Hole by Mac Barnett, coming from Walker Books in October 2014, and House Held Up By Trees by Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Ted Kooser, which was also named a New York Times Book Review Best Illustrated Children’s Book of the Year (also published by Walker Books), as well as Cats’ Night Out by Caroline Stutson, which won the Governor General's Award and The Dark by Lemony Snicket. Jon Klassen has also worked as an illustrator for feature animated films, music videos, and editorial pieces. Originally from Niagara Falls, Ontario, Jon now lives in Los Angeles.

ABOUT WALKER BOOKS UK Walker is the world's leading employee-owned, independent publisher of children's books. Working with the best authors and illustrators, Walker Books is renowned for its truly original publishing and outstanding quality. Home to books for all ages, Walker Books publishes many award-winning authors, illustrators and brands including Anthony Horowitz, Cassandra Clare, Lucy Cousins, Anthony Browne, Polly Dunbar, Patrick Ness and Where’s Wally? Walker's licensing division manages licensing activity across several Walker brands including Maisy and all other Lucy Cousins properties, Guess How Much I Love You and new property Tilly and Friends. Walker Productions develops Walker content for other media platforms, with current projects including Hank Zipzer and Tilly and Friends for BBC and Fleabag Monkeyface for ITV. Walker Books UK is part of the vibrant, international Walker Books Group that includes Candlewick Press in America and Walker Books Australia. Further information can be found at

PREVIOUS KATE GREENAWAY MEDAL WINS FOR WALKER BOOKS 2014 Jon Klassen, This is Not My Hat 2012 Jim Kay, A Monster Calls 2004 Chris Riddell, Jonathan Swift's “Gulliver” 2002 Bob Graham, Jethro Byrde- Fairy Child 2001 Chris Riddell, Pirate Diary 1999 Helen Oxenbury, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland 1997 P J Lynch, When Jessie Came Across the Sea 1995 P J Lynch, The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey 1988 Barbara Firth, Can't You Sleep Little Bear? 1985 Juan Wijngaard, Sir Gawain and the Loathly Lady

ABOUT THE KATE GREENAWAY MEDAL The Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955, for distinguished illustration in a book for children. Named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her beautiful children's illustrations and designs, the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded annually for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

No comments: